Tags

, ,

The Twist was to be brief.

I’m not sure about the rest of humanity, but I know that I have the tendency to live day to day in complete autonomy, caring only about me and being completely indifferent towards the issues that anyone else might have. I think I’m just so swept away by my own troubles that I forget to look up and check if someone else might be in need. I accidentally stumbled upon that realisation when a letter between the pages of a book I had taken out from the library.

“Dear Lucy,

I’ve tried tirelessly to apologise to you. I hope that one day you could forgive me, and let me meet my son.

David.”

It’s dated 1969. It has no creases so it seems it was never posted. David might not have met his son.

I wonder if my dad would like to see me. Wherever he may be.

