Tags

, , ,

The internet will make you do really weird stuff.

I’ve come down with a terrible case of writer’s block. Naturally, being a child of the 21st century, millennial, born-free as they say in SA, I googled a solution. I’ve always found it simply fascinating that Google can be used as a verb, even when you don’t use the same search-engine. I’ve googled things using Bing countless times.

The search results showed me a number of creative sites with all the usual solutions, go outside, pet a deer, buckle down and write, build a chair, eat healthy, remove distraction, basically solutions to all things in life. Then I caught a list that intrigued me. Composed by Brian Moreland, it had seven ways to overcome The Block. The first six were the usual, but it was the the last one that I’m going to try.

Moreland calls it the Glass-of-water method. The idea is to fill up a glass of water and, before going to bed, declare your intentions to said glass. Drink half of the water, sleep, and drink the rest in the morning. Moreland says that within 3 days, the victim will be cured.

As ridiculous as this sounds, it made me think of Masaru Emoto’s water crystal experiments. He would expose water to various forms of media and communication such as pictures, music, words etc. and then he would view the water, in a crystallised form under a microscope. The molecules that were exposed to positive messages formed solid structures while the negative messages formed molecules that looked broken and unstable.

So if I give my water a positive and reinforcing message, and proceed to consume it for it’s optimistic power, I shall be rewarded.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Xx

